Technical Difficulties

This weekend my computer decided to go on the fritz. Most things still work for me, but Microsoft Word keeps freezing. I can barely type my own name before it becomes non-responsive. (I’m writing this post on one of my school’s computers).

My laptop is almost four years old, so I guess it’s only to be expected that I would run into problems eventually. Of course, I have a paper due that I wanted to write on my own computer in the comfort of my apartment, but I ended up writing it in a computer lab.

This experience has made me realize just how much I depend on my laptop when I’m writing. I can write longhand, (in fact, that’s how I do almost all my prewriting and journaling) but when it comes to actually sitting down and turning my random jottings into something worth sharing, I really appreciate the flexibility my laptop gives me.

The nice thing about a laptop is you can take it anywhere, even outside (if the weather is nice enough and you have a power source or long battery life). If I want to write in the library, no problem! I just bring my laptop and set up in a cozy study cubical. If I want to write on the floor of my living room, that’s fine too. I can spread out all my notes and make as much of a mess as I want.

I’ve always disliked feeling chained to a desk, but I guess that’s the way it’s going to be for a little while. I’m optimistic about the overall prognosis of my laptop; one of my friends is working on it now. Hopefully it will be fixed soon, but until then, my writing routine’s been interrupted.

How about you? Has your writing routine ever been interrupted by something beyond your control? Tell me about it in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Technical Difficulties

  1. Sorry to hear about your laptop. It is a real pain when things like that happen, and it ruins the routine of writing! My computer tends to fritz out sometimes for no reason, so I have to remember to save, very often πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

