Even more web series to watch

Since I wrote the first installment of this series I have discovered several absolutely brilliant shows that I want to share with you. My friends are all tired of hearing me geek out about literary vlogs, but I love to talk about them, so I’m going to share more of my favorites with you. These aren’t in any particular order. I would have a really difficult time ranking them, so let’s just say they’re all awesome.

First, my newest discovery. I just found Nothing Much To Do earlier this week, and I stayed up until 1:30 last night marathoning all the episodes (there’s almost 50 at this point, on three different channels, but many of them are very short). There’s a lot to love in this series. It’s an adaptation of “Much Ado About Nothing,” one of my favorite William Shakespeare plays. There are three channels, which gives you the opportunity to see multiple characters’ points of view. Much Ado About Nothing actually transitions extremely well into a modern high school setting. Also, the actors are from New Zealand. Need I say more? I would like to mention that there is a bit of strong language, especially from the Benedick character, but nothing worse than you’d hear from real high school students filming a vlog.

Next comes Classic Alice, which is not an adaptation of Alice in Wonderland, although they do make some pretty great references to the book. The concept of this show is actually a bit different than the others on this list, as it doesn’t focus on adapting one classic book or story, but is structured in “books” or seasons which focus on different classic pieces of literature. The premise is that Alice is a smart and dedicated English major who freaks out after getting a bad grade on a paper and decides to prove she understands literature by reliving classic books in her own life. The first book is Crime and Punishment, which is probably the last book I ever thought I’d see adapted into the modern setting, but it works. They are currently filming and editing the second book, so I’m anxious for that to come out. The ending of the first season was a bit of a cliffhanger.

Next I’d like to talk about The Adventures of Peter and Wendy. This modern adaption of Peter Pan has really strong and engaging characters, plus it’s funny as heck. Sometimes I think John’s my favorite Darling brother, and sometimes I think it’s Michael. My love for Wendy and Peter knows no bounds, even when they make stupid or thoughtless choices. The characters are in the early 20’s “am I grown up yet?” stage of life, which is something I really identify with because that’s where I am to. This series has a great lens for discussing issues of responsibility and finding direction in your life, which is pretty cool. There are some drinking/partying references, but they’re pretty mild (at least in my opinion). The show just finished it’s first season and is currently raising funds for the second one on Indiegogo (you can click here to find out more about the campaign).

I’d also like to give a shout out to the March Family Letters, which I think is going to start full-swing in December but has been releasing teasers and Q and A videos. (In this adaptation of Little Women, Amy is a pretentious hipster, Meg a conscientious college student, and Jo an aspiring screenwriter. So good!).

 

Leave a Reply

