The first book I ever loved

I recently encountered an article about several famous authors and the first books they loved (link here) which made me think about the first book I ever truly loved. My mom read to me all the time when I was little, and there were plenty of books that I made her read over and over again (Thanks, Mom!). Most of these books blend into each other in my memory until we reach The Book.

The first book I ever loved was How to Bake an Apple Pie and See the World. I was probably in preschool or kindergarten when my mom read this to me. I’m not completely sure, but I do know I was in the process of learning my letters and didn’t know how to read on my own yet. Mom read that book to me every day for a solid week, and by the end of it I had it completely memorized.

I could look at it and “read” the entire thing, except for the word “cinnamon,” which always tripped me up. I probably wasn’t actually making the connection between the letters and the words they represented, but I think I was right at the border of this discovery, so in a way you could say that How to Bake an Apple Pie and See the World was not only the first book I ever loved, but also the first book I ever read on my own.

The story goes something like this: A girl wants to bake an apple pie, but her local grocery store is closed and she can’t buy any of the ingredients she needs. What can she do to fulfill her craving for apple pie? Take a road trip, of course. The girl travels all over the world to collect the best ingredients for her pie, from Italy for the wheat to Madagascar for the cinnamon.

Think for a moment about how awesome that would be if someone did it in real life.

 

 

If you’re done being jealous of that girl (I’m not, even 15+ years later), tell me about the first book you ever loved!

Leave a Reply

