Blizzard Books

I’m snowed in today, so I’m going to share some of my Blizzard Books with you.

Embedded image permalink

I’m in the two book zone for the blizzard (picture sourced from Folly Quarter Media on Twitter https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CZQLrhIWQAAu31v.jpg)

Blizzard Books (also known as Desert Island Books) are the books you would chose to take with you to read if you knew you were going to be stranded in a place far away from civilization (and book stores).

If I could only read five books for the rest of my life, these are the books I would choose (in no particular order):

  • The Complete Jane Austen
  • The Complete Works of Shakespeare
  • The Bible (New King James Version preferred)
  • Middlemarch (by George Eliot)
  • The Complete Father Brown (a collection of mystery stories by G. K. Chesterton)

Yes, I know that including collections of complete works is cheating a bit, but I don’t care.

For us, the question “What five books would you take with you to a desert island?” is completely hypothetical, but it’s really interesting to imagine situations where this kind of question is actually relevant.

When I was in middle school, I read a slim little sci-fi story called “The Green Book,” written by Jill Paton Walsh. In “The Green Book,” the characters must leave Earth, taking only one book per person as they try to settle on a new world.

When you can only take one book, you must weigh the value of practical information with the value of preserving human culture and great literary works. This conundrum has stuck with me for years.

If you were stuck on a desert island, or snowed in for the winter, what books would you want to have with you?

Leave a Reply

